Skip to content

PHP frameworks at NASA

December 7, 2005

I tend to ph34r frameworks, for they tend to be used by evil developers who can’t actually write any code themselves. But apparently NASA like them.

MySQL, Zend and NASA are running a web seminar on the subject on December 13, 2005: 10:00 am PST, 1:00 pm EST, 18:00 GMT

Over the past year, the industry has seen an influx of metaprogramming-based frameworks that have helped developers appreciate true rapid prototyping and application development. These frameworks utilize a MySQL data model to automate a system’s entire Object Relational Model (ORM), allowing a team to implement an application in days instead of weeks.

One framework, the Qcodo Development Framework for PHP, takes a slight departure from many of these other frameworks by utilizing code generation instead of runtime reflection to perform ORM automation.

http://www.mysql.com/news-and-events/web-seminars/mysql-nasa-zend.php

I’m all for “freeing developers from unnecessary tedious, mundane coding”, but I really do hate code generation – you may as well build your apps using Dreamweaver 🙂

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: